Rusted From The Rain…

I heard a new song from Billy Talent, one of my favorite bands. It’s called “Rusted from the Rain”, and the lyrics are as follows (combined from www.metrolyrics.com and www.billytalent3.com):

I stumble through the wreckage, rusted from the rain
There’s nothing left to salvage, no one left to blame
Among the broken mirrors, I don’t look the same
I’m rusted from the rain, I’m rusted from the rain

Dissect me till my blood runs down into the drain
My bitter heart is pumping oil into my veins
I’m nothing but a tin man, I don’t feel any pain
I don’t feel any pain, I’m rusted from the rain

Go on…crush me like a flower, rusted from the rain
Go on…strip me of my powers, beat me with your chains
And if…I’m the king of cowards you’re the queen of pain
I’m rusted from the rain, I’m rusted from the rain

You hung me like a picture, now I’m just a frame
I used to be your lap dog, now I’m just a stray
Shackled in a graveyard, left here to decay
Left here to decay, I’m rusted from the rain

Go on…crush me like a flower, rusted from the rain
C’mon…Strip me of my powers, beat me with your chains
And if…I’m the king of cowards you’re the queen of pain
I’m rusted from the rain, I’m rusted from the rain

I’m not 100% sure that these are the absolutely correct lyrics, as I found that the photo of the lyrics on the billytalent3.com website showed that the lyrics were much shorter than the ones on metrolyrics.com, but you get the general idea.

It’s a relatively soft song for Billy Talent, but that doesn’t really surprise/worry me because their second album had some soft songs on it, like “Surrender”, and they were still really good tunes. The lyrics of this particular song, though, speak strongly to me. I absolutely love the line, “You hung me like a picture, now I’m just a frame.”

Incidentally, this line basically echoes the way I usually feel these days. People expect the ones they know to have “normal” thoughts and feelings, and to view themselves as “complete” people. I don’t feel complete. How is it even possible to feel complete now when life is as it is? I feel like the picture in the line above. I used to have something inside me which was valuable. It had meaning. Now, I feel empty, like a frame without a picture. A frame meant for something special but which is now reduced to offering a splendid view of a blank wall, an empty canvas.

I do realize that this is another moan and groan post, but I post what I feel. And right now, a nice dish of moaning and groaning is on the menu. I might have something more positive to write about soon…;-)

I am so psyched for the release of Billy Talent III! It’s going to be so rad! I am pretty much nearly 100%, if not more, sure that this release will rock my socks straight off…as both their previous albums have. Their “Watoosh!” album from when they were known as “Pezz” is fantastic, too.

Check out the video for “Rusted from the Rain” here.

~ by offling on May 25, 2009.

3 Responses to “Rusted From The Rain…”

  1. […] Original post by offling […]

  2. I feel the exact same way.

    • Hello, and thanks for your contribution! 🙂 I guess our options are somewhat limited: 1) restore what it is we feel that we lost, or 2) replace what we lost with something else. Sometimes it isn’t always that simple though…

Leave a comment