Concerning Three Novels, a Theory, and a Troubling Conclusion

The thing about books is that they can be so outrageously interesting. So much so, in fact, that it is quite possible (and highly likely) that at any one moment in time I might have upwards of three books at various stages of being read. Such is my current situation.

At this moment, I am in the process of reading 1984, by George Orwell (a school assigned reading that I am enjoying so far), Inside the Illusion, the ninth book in a series by K.A. Applegate, and Anansi Boys, by author Neil Gaiman. All three books are exceptionally interesting (except possibly Inside the Illusion, as I liked the previous books more…I’m reading it so that I can move on to what I think is the last book in the series), and I’m enjoying reading each one.

Here’s my theory on why this is so: The desire to exist in an alternate world or universe is so strong in me that I can scarcely restrain myself from reading multiple writings simultaneously, concerning fictional characters who exist in said different situations.

What do I find so attractive in the lives of the characters in the novels I read? Is it the qualities they display that I wish I displayed myself? Or, is it perhaps that I simply find their fictional lives in their fictional worlds so much more interesting than a life in a world such as my own? Are these accounts my outlet to a strong, internal desire that I myself do not quite understand, or are they the boards with which I barricade the only door out of the life I now live?

~ by offling on March 11, 2009.

One Response to “Concerning Three Novels, a Theory, and a Troubling Conclusion”

  1. I think this is a desire that a lot of people with imagination have. It’s a kind of escapism… but it adds color and experiences to our lives that we never could have had before. I learn so much about history and human psychology and foreign exotic lands by reading. It’s a good way to armchair travel. Providing you choose good fictional books, of course.
    But beware, it can be dangerous. Believe me, I’m a novel reading junkie. And good classics, too. Not pulp fiction by any means. My trap was that I’d spend the whole day thinking about the characters and the plot and what was going to happen, and I wouldn’t read anything else until I’d finished those books (including far more important reading!). I get totally wrapped up in fictional worlds – so now I restrain myself to reading less often (and usually shorter stories I can finish quickly) so that I don’t exclude reality!
    😛 These are just my experiences.

Leave a Reply

 
