M.I.A. – Avenged Sevenfold

Staring at the carnage, praying that the sun would never rise
Living another day in disguise
These feelings can’t be right, lend me your courage to stand up and fight, on tonight

Ohhh… tonight
Stand up and fight

The fighting rages on and on, to challenge me you must be strong.
I walk your land but don’t belong, two million soldiers can’t be wrong

It’s no fun but I’ve been here before
I’m far from home and I’m fighting your war
(Not the way I pictured this, I wanted better things)
Some are scared others killing for fun, I shot a mother right in front of her son
(Take this from my consciousness and please erase my dreams)

Fight for honor, fight for your life
Pray to God that our side is right
Although we won I still may lose, until I make it home to you
I see our mothers filled with tears, grew up so fast where did those years go?
Memories won’t let you cry, unless I don’t return tonight

So many soldiers on the other side, I take their lives so they can’t take mine
(Scared to make it out alive now, murder’s all I know)
Nobody tells me all the reasons we’re here, I have my weapon so there’s nothing to fear
(Another day, another life, but nothing real to show for)

Fight for honor, fight for your life
Pray to god that our side is right
Although we won I still may lose, until I make it home to you
I see our mothers filled with tears, grew up so fast where did those years go?
Memories won’t let you cry, unless I don’t return tonight

Staring at the carnage, praying that the sun would never rise
Living another day in disguise
These feelings can’t be right, lend me your courage to stand up and fight

Watching the death toll rise wondering how I’m alive
Stranger’s blood on my hands, shot all I can
There were no silent nights watching your brothers all die
To destroy all their plans with no thought of me (No thought of me)
No thought of me

Ohhhh…

Walk the city lonely, memories that haunt are passing by
A murderer walks your streets tonight
Forgive me for my crimes
Don’t forget that I was so young, but so scared
In the name of God and the Country

This song is one of my favorites. Seamlessly blending melodious portions with those filled with raw emotion, it is not only great to listen to, but in addition packs a powerful message. M.I.A. paints a picture of war free from the bias media messages of today, from the eyes of a fictional soldier who fought in a war and who, forever afterward, lived a life blighted with regret and pain. It shows how many people only look forward to the concept of a future “victory” during a time of war. Illustrating through vivid and graphic imagery the jaded eyes with which many soldiers view the fight, perhaps doubting the rightness of their actions, this song opens our eyes to the notion that perhaps fighting wars is not the way to end disputes. So often it is forgotten that both sides in a war believe themselves to be the correct, valiant, and honorable side. While many volunteer to fight as a means to avenge the deaths of their figurative brothers, do not people realize that the supposed “enemy” in such wars includes fighters who are fighting for the same exact reason? If there were no people to fight, would there not be an end to wars? If there were no wars would there not be an end to pointless death and suffering? And if there were no painful deaths to cope with, would there not be a reduction in people wanting to fight to avenge their loved ones?

War is a cycle, and all cycles can be broken.

~ by offling on March 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
